Change the world

Mercantile Law


Head of Department
Prof Andrew Mark Tait
Prof Mark Tait
Position: Head of Department: Mercantile Law; Associate Professor
Department: Mercantile Law
Room: Room 108, Embizweni Building
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4372
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: mark.tait@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B Juris (UPE), LLB (Stellenbosch), MBL (Unisa), LLM (UPE), LLD (NMMU)
Expertise: Consumer Law & Law of Contract

Academic Staff
Dr Lynn Biggs
Ms Lynn Biggs
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mercantile Law
Room: 129A Embizweni
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4242
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: lynn.biggs@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BCom LLB (UPE) LLM (NMMU)
Expertise: Legal Skills, Labour Law, Franchising Law

Adv Lindi Coetzee
Adv Lindi Coetzee
Position: Senior Lecturer; National Director, Street Law
Department: Faculty of Law
Room: 116 Embizweni
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2077
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Lindi.Coetzee@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BJuris LLB (UPE), LLM (UNISA), Advocate of the High Court of South Africa
Expertise: Corporate Law; Law of Insolvency, Street Law

Thokwana
Ms Tina Hokwana
Position: Associate Lecturer
Department: Faculty of Law
Room: 130
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 2191
Email: Tina.Hokwana@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: LLB (NMMU), Programme in Labour Law Certificate (NMMU), Attorney of the High Court of South Africa
Expertise: Commercial Law, Labour Law, Civil Law, Family Law, Medical Negligence, Litigation

Mr Stephen Newman
Mr Stephen Newman
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mercantile Law
Room: office 111 Embizweni building
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 (0)41 504 2582
Fax: +27 (0)41 5041095
Email: stephen.newman@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B Com LLB, LLM(cum laude) (UPE), LLM: International Trade Law (Stell), Diploma: Legislative Drafting (Vista University)
Expertise: Consumer Protection, International Trade Law

Mr Thando Qotoyi
Mr Thando Qotoyi
Position: Lecturer
Phone: 27 41 504 2587
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Thanduxolo.Qotoyi2@mandela.ac.za

Mr Gary Jon  Richards
Mr Gary Jon Richards
Position: Lecturer
Phone: 27 41 504 1159
Fax: 27 41 4645797
Email: GaryJon.Richards@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BJuris LLB (UPE) LLM (UNISA), Attorney
Expertise: Company Law, Insolvency Law

GlenwinS
Adv Glenwin Sefela
Position: Law Lecturer
Department: Faculty of Law
Room: 0106
Location: George Campus
Email: Glenwin.Sefela@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: LLB (UWC), LLM (UWC)
Expertise: Environmental Law

Siyabonga
Mr. Siyabonga Sibisi
Position: Associate Lecturer
Department: Mercantile Law
Room: Room 153, First Floor, Administrative Building, George Campus
Location: George Campus
Phone: 044 801 5584
Email: Siyabonga.Sibisi@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: LLB (UKZN Pietermaritzburg) Attorney of the High Court of South Africa
Expertise: Commercial Law, Law of Contract, Company Law and Domestic Violence

Prof Adriaan Van der Walt
Prof Adriaan Van der Walt
Position: Head: Labour and Social Security Law Unit
Department: Mercantile Law
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2199
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Adriaan.VanDerWalt@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BJuris BA (Hons) (UPE) LLB (UNISA)
Expertise: Labour Law

Administrative Staff
Ms Erina Strydom
Ms Erina Strydom
Position: Secretary: Mercantile Law
Department: Academic Administration
Room: 090135
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2283
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Erina.Strydom@mandela.ac.za